OPPOSE SB154 (Forced Solar Access)

Thursday, February 16, 2017 | posted by Mindy Knudsen 10:50 AM

 SENSIBLE SOLAR PANEL RULES FOR COMMUNITY ASSOCIATIONS

On Friday, February 17 at 8:00 a.m., the Utah Senate Transportation Committee will hold a hearing regarding solar technology in community associations (S.B. 154).

Current law already allows residents living in community associations to work with their community to install solar technology. CAI supports solar technology and the benefits of solar technology’s environmental impact. CAI members have actively worked with S.B. 154’s sponsor (Senator Fillmore) and other stakeholders and we support requiring all future community documents to declare the community’s solar rules. However, as currently drafted, the retroactive applicability of S.B. 154 is not about environmental sustainability – it’s about state government ignoring the will of the people (homeowners in community associations) by bypassing neighborhoods’ established and vetted processes for forced installation of solar technology; with no regard to the community’s footprint or self-governance.

Before the hearing, please contact members of the Utah Senate Transportation, Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Standing Committee and ask them to OPPOSE S.B. 154, UNLESS AMENDED TO REMOVE RETROACTIVE APPLICATION.

 

Senator Buxton 801-707-7095 gbuxton@le.utah.gov
Senator Adams 801-593-1776 jsadams@le.utah.gov
Senator Anderegg 801-901-3580 janderegg@le.utah.gov
Senator Dabakis 801-815-3533 jdabakis@le.utah.gov
Senator Harper 801-566-5466 wharper@le.utah.gov
Senator Mayne 801-232-6648 kmayne@le.utah.gov
Senator Van Tassell 435-790-0675 kvantassell@le.utah.gov

 

Please feel free to pass this message along to your neighbors.

Thank you for your support.

CAI Utah Legislative Action Committee



Comments are closed.