Interested in becoming a member of the CAI Utah Legislative Action Committee?

All positions are currently filled. If you have interest in serving on the Utah LAC in the future, you must first become a member of CAI Utah and comply with the qualifications listed below. Click here to learn about membership benefits. Potential qualified candidates should contact LAC Executive Director, Mindy Knudsen (801) 597-5977 for further details about membership opportunities as committee seats become available.

Please also consider the cause of keeping beneficial legislation possible for your community and visit our Donate page. Thank you.

Criteria for Manager and Business Partner candidates

  • Must be members of CAI for three years
  • Two of the three years of required membership must be spent in active service on a Utah Chapter committee as determined by the Chapter Board
  • One of the three years of required membership can be waived upon attendance of a national CAI conference/annual law seminar, large scale manager workshop or CEO/MC conference (This cannot be applied to exemption from the two years of active Chapter service)
  • New Utah Chapter members who move from other states and show active service in their former local chapter can waive one year of the service requirement

Criteria for Home Owner/Board Member candidates

  • Must be members of CAI
  • Must have experience/interest in community association legislation

Subcommitee Charter

Potential members of the LAC Subcommittee, please read the Charter here.

Current  Members

Committee Chair 
Michael D. Johnson
FCS Community Management, AAMC
PO Box 5555
Draper, UT 84020
(801) 661-2220

Committee Vice Chair/Public and Legislative Relations Chair
David C. Houston
Coral Canyon Community Manager
3150 E. Grasslands Parkway
Washington, UT 84780
(435) 634-1699
(435) 634-1690 (Fax)

Chair of Legislative Analysis
Bruce C. Jenkins
Vial Fotheringham SG, LLP
(435) 656-8200
(435) 619-5450 (cell)
(435) 656-8201(Fax)

Vice Chair of Legislative Analysis
Michael B. Miller
Miller Harrison LLC
50 W Broadway, Ste 450
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(801) 692-0792

John Richards
Ball Janik LLP
2040 E. Murray Holladay Rd., Suite 106
Salt Lake City, UT 84117

Val K. Weight
123 Second Avenue, #413
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
(801) 870-8891

Vice Treasurer
Jason Sucher
P.O. Box 1006
Orem, UT  84059-1006
(801) 235-7368
Fax: (801) 235-1545
eFax: (866) 271-1084

Fundraising Chair
Ray Kimber
2752 S. 1900 W.
Ogden, UT 84401
(801) 621-5530
(801)627-6980 (Fax)

Fundraising Vice Chair
Jerry Jensen
Community Association Manager
410 East Tabernacle Street Suite B
Saint George, UT 84770
(435) 674-2002
(435) 229-8066 (Cell)
(435) 674-1676 (Fax)

Fundraising Vice Chair
Jason Sucher
P.O. Box 1006
Orem, UT  84059-1006
(801) 235-7368
Fax: (801) 235-1545
eFax: (866) 271-1084

At Large – LAC
John Morris
Morris Sperry
7070 South Union Park Center, Ste. 220
Midvale, UT 84047
(801) 790-9000

At Large – LAC
LaMond Woods
Sentry West Insurance
(801) 438-9953
(801) 360-1440 (cell)

At Large – LAC
Jill Candland
820 Three Fountains, #126
Salt Lake City, UT 84107
(801) 266-2254