Membership

Interested in becoming a member of the CAI Utah Legislative Action Committee?

All positions are currently filled. If you have interest in serving on the Utah LAC in the future, you must first become a member of CAI Utah and comply with the qualifications listed below. Click here to learn about membership benefits. Potential qualified candidates should contact LAC Executive Director, Mindy Knudsen [executivedirector@utahlac.com, (801) 899-9LAC] for futher details about membership opportunities as committee seats become available.

Please also consider the cause of keeping beneficial legislation possible for your community and visit our Donate page. Thank you.

Criteria for Manager and Business Partner candidates

  • Must be members of CAI for three years
  • Two of the three years of required membership must be spent in active service on a Utah Chapter committee as determined by the Chapter Board
  • One of the three years of required membership can be waived upon attendance of a national CAI conference/annual law seminar, large scale manager workshop or CEO/MC conference (This cannot be applied to exemption from the two years of active Chapter service)
  • New Utah Chapter members who move from other states and show active service in their former local chapter can waive one year of the service requirement

Criteria for Home Owner/Board Member candidates

  • Must be members of CAI
  • Must have experience/interest in community association legislation

Subcommitee Charter

Potential members of the LAC Subcommittee, please read the Charter here.

Current  Members

Committee Chair (2017)
Michael D. Johnson
FCS Community Management, AAMC
PO Box 5555
Draper, UT 84020
(801) 661-2220
michael@hoaliving.com

Committee Vice Chair/Public and Legislative Relations Chair
David C. Houston
Coral Canyon Community Manager
3150 E. Grasslands Parkway
Washington, UT 84780
(435) 634-1699
(435) 634-1690 (Fax)
dhouston@ccmcnet.com

Chair of Legislative Analysis
Bruce C. Jenkins
Vial Fotheringham SG, LLP
(435) 656-8200
(435) 619-5450 (cell)
(435) 656-8201(Fax)
bcj@vf-law.com

Vice Chair of Legislative Analysis
Michael B. Miller
Miller Harrison LLC
50 W Broadway, Ste 450
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(801) 692-0792
mmiller@millerharrison.com

Secretary
John Richards
Ball Janik LLP
2040 E. Murray Holladay Rd., Suite 106
Salt Lake City, UT 84117
801-274-6800
jrichards@balljanik.com

Treasurer
Val K. Weight
123 Second Avenue, #413
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
(801) 870-8891
val.weight@gmail.com

Vice Treasurer
Jason Sucher
P.O. Box 1006
Orem, UT  84059-1006
(801) 235-7368
Fax: (801) 235-1545
eFax: (866) 271-1084
jason@amres.co

Fundraising Chair
Ray Kimber
2752 S. 1900 W.
Ogden, UT 84401
(801) 621-5530
(801)627-6980 (Fax)
ray@kimber.com

Fundraising Vice Chair
Jerry Jensen
Community Association Manager
410 East Tabernacle Street Suite B
Saint George, UT 84770
(435) 674-2002
(435) 229-8066 (Cell)
(435) 674-1676 (Fax)
Jerry@CAMUtah.com

Fundraising Vice Chair
Jason Sucher
P.O. Box 1006
Orem, UT  84059-1006
(801) 235-7368
Fax: (801) 235-1545
eFax: (866) 271-1084
jason@advantagemanagement.com

Public and Legislative Relations Vice Chair
Justin Rae
832 Three Fountains
Salt Lake City, UT 84107
(352) 284-9202
jrae@thesunrae.com

At Large – LAC
John Morris
Morris Sperry
7070 South Union Park Center, Ste. 220
Midvale, UT 84047
(801) 790-9000
john@morrissperry.com

At Large – LAC
LaMond Woods
Sentry West Insurance
(801) 438-9953
(801) 360-1440 (cell)
lamond.woods@sentrywest.com

At Large – LAC
Jill Candland
820 Three Fountains, #126
Salt Lake City, UT 84107
(801) 266-2254
jillcan@gmail.com

At Large – LAC
Tod Bean
CCMC/Suncrest
5065 S. 1000 E.
Murray, UT 84117
(801) 572-1233
tbean@ccmcnet.com