Archive for September, 2009

Utah LAC Recap of 2009 Legislative Activities

Wednesday, September 2, 2009 posted by admin 5:42 PM

UCIOA:     We were unable to complete a revised draft of UCIOA, after modifications by the Legislative drafters, in time for the session. The Utah LAC’s lobbying efforts on behalf of UCIOA increased visibility and credibility with key members of the Legislature.

Foreclosure – HB 10: This was basically the same bill as HB 400 in the 2008 session. The Utah LAC worked diligently to encourage the bills sponsor to look at alternatives. The bill died in the House without the Utah LAC’s support.

Rental Restrictions on Condominiums and Common Interest Communities -HB 243: An association may restrict and completely ban the non-owner occupancy of units, subject to the initial declaration or a properly amended declaration. Restrictions on non-owner occupancy added after the association is formed by less than a unanimous consent of the owners, must be in the Declaration and must have certain exceptions required by the statute.

Committee members were instrumental in forming an alliance with the bills sponsor and the banking industry both to modify the legislation and to add a provision regarding amendments to documents requiring mortgage approval. The new provision provides that approval is deemed granted if mortgagees do not respond in a set time period.

The bill passed and was signed into law with the support of the Utah LAC.

Comments Off on Utah LAC Recap of 2009 Legislative Activities

2009-2010 Annual Reorganization

Tuesday, September 1, 2009 posted by admin 2:50 PM

At our August 20 meeting, the following were elected to serve as leaders, effective September 1.

Chair – John Morris, Esq. McKay Burton & Thurman
Vice Chair – Bruce Jenkins, Esq., Jenkins, Ronnow, Jensen & Bayles
Secretary – Michael Miller, Esq., Vial Fotheringham
Treasurer – Michael Johnson, CEO FCS Community Management
Funding Chair – Marla Mott-Smith Bowers, Terrace Falls HOA
Funding Vice Chair – Jerry Jensen, CEO Community Association Management
Chair Legislative Analysis & Drafting – Bruce Jenkins, Esq., Jenkins, Ronnow, Jensen & Bayles
Vice Chair Legislative Analysis & Drafting – John Morris, Esq. McKay Burton & Thurman
Chair Public and Legislative Relations – Sabine Liedel, Regional Director Community Archives
Vice Chair Public and legislative Relations – David Houston, Community Manager Coral Canyon

Comments Off on 2009-2010 Annual Reorganization